EDTC 6431: Learning Tool Exploration 3 – Slideshare

For my third learning tool exploration I decided to take a look at slideshare. Slideshare is an online community where the user can share their presentations, documents, PDF’s, videos, and webinars. Slideshare is free to sign up but does offer a “pro” version for an additional fee. On slideshare you can upload your presentations either publicly of privately and download or view presentations shared by other users.

Slideshare home page:

Slideshare Main Page

What I valued most about this tool is the ease to use and the ability to share your own presentations. As a teacher I can upload my documents and power point presentations on slideshare where students could refer to. I can simply give the students my user name and then students will have access to any presentations I have shared on slideshare. This can be extremely useful for students who may be slower at taking notes or maybe needed a reminder on a certain presentation. Students can also print off slides or lectures prior to class which will help in note taking. Instead of emailing students presentations or notes, simply stating that all my documents are on slideshare will save the hassle of trying to get the documents out.

Sample of a shared lesson:

Sample Lesson

Another great feature about the tool is the ability to search for presentations shared by other users. Many of the presentations are sample lessons, teaching tools, and workshops taught. As a teacher these presentations shared by others will help me continue to learn about various topics as well as provide supplemental materials that could be used in my classroom.

Sample of a search result:

Sample Search Results

The one feature I wished it had is a more detailed organizational method. Currently, the user can organize by presentations, documents, infographics, and videos. It would make things easier for example if under presentations, you can organize those files into categories like subject or class. Other than that I find this tool extremely helpful in presenting materials in a quick and efficient manner that can be easily accessible to my students.

Leave a comment