H3 Principle: Honor the classroom/ school community as a milieu for learning

To me, H3 involves setting up and creating a safe classroom community where each individual has the opportunity to grow and develop as a student. This involves establishing clear rules and procedures, organized classroom set-up, utilizing disciplinary interventions, and building a positive teacher-student relationship. One way I would honor the classroom as a place for learning is through the establishment of my own management philosophy. A management philosophy is a summary of how I would create a positive learning environment through my instructional approach, organization of classroom structure, and handling typical challenges.  Figure 1 shows my management philosophy that I will continue to adapt to better meet the needs of my students. I wrote this for EDU 6130: Classroom Management. Figure 1

To become an effective teacher, I have learned that I must establish order in the class, actively engage students, and elicit cooperation so that teaching and learning can occur. Marzano (2003) states “effective teaching and learning cannot take place in a poorly managed classroom.” This means that a teacher must properly manage the classroom as a setting for learning. Marzano (2003) suggests through creating rules and procedures, effectively organizing the classroom, using disciplinary interventions, and building a positive teacher-student relationship effective teaching and learning can occur. Classrooms become an environment for learning when students feel safe, respected, and are actively engaged. Much planning and adaptations must take place when establishing a management philosophy. One cannot simply create a management philosophy based upon what they think is required necessary for students and for the classroom. Having a management plan set up is important, but knowing and willing to adjust the management plan based upon the students needs is crucial. One way to ensure that my plan is effective is to continually reexamine the management plan and to assess my students. This can be achieved by asking students if they feel safe in the classroom, or how I am doing implementing the management plan. A resource I could seek for further assistance is through the help of my peers whom I could collaborate effective methods for honoring the classroom as a milieu for learning.

Marzano, R. J. (2003). Classroom management that works. Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.

Leave a Reply

