EDTC 6431: Multiple Intelligences

The first chapter of the text covers a very important aspect of teaching, which is of differentiating learning.  As Howard Gardner states in his theory of multiple intelligences are people that have different strengths and learning should be tailored to these strengths. This is applicable to teaching because if teachers are able to align educational approaches with an individual’s stronger intelligences, understanding and learning can become easier and be done with greater enthusiasm (Christensen, Johnson, & Horn, 2011). This makes it quite evident that in teaching there is not a one size fits all model and as teachers we must continually adapt and change our methods to better suite students. I believe this notion is especially important at the elementary level where a teacher will be with a group of students the entire year. The teacher will be able to learn their strengths and weaknesses at greater detail, in doing so develop appropriate lessons in accordance with their strengths while continuing to improve the areas of weakness. New web based tools such as wikis can be used as an effective way in differentiating instruction. Kawahata and Chung (2013) states wiki technology is an effective tool for collaborative learning and sharing knowledge.  This is especially the case for students who may have more of an introvert personality. I believe that it is not only important to be aware of the multiple intelligences one will have in the classroom, but also be aware of the new technological resources available.

I have never used an eReader before so this was my first experience. I personally do not like to read things of length on the computer as I feel my eyes get tired quickly. Additionally, doing the reading on the computer allows for the opportunity of more distractions. I find myself stopping reading and taking more breaks to check the news, sports, or emails. I considering myself to be pretty computer savvy and I found it easy to use the tools on the kindle reader. Highlighting and making my own notes was very simple. It also was very easy to navigate and search throughout the book. The one aspect I like about reading on an eReader is the ability to search for key words to find my way back to a page that I could not exactly remember.

Screen Shot Ch. 1

Christensen, C., Johnson, C.W., & Horn, M.B. (2011). Disrupting class: how disruptive innovation will change the way the world learns (kindle). McGraw-Hill.

Kawahata, C., & Chung, C. (2013). Increasing student motivation and engagement in the peer editing process through the use of wiki technology. Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2013, 4492-4496.

4 thoughts on “EDTC 6431: Multiple Intelligences

  1. Calvin,
    I like how you talk about understanding our students different learning styles as a chance to discover their strengths and weaknesses. Rather than looking at learning styles simply as what makes our students unique (and maybe more challenging to teach to) we can begin to look at how they learn best and how you can structure or rather describe content and information to them so they can better understand them and be successful. Once I’ve found the ways my students learn best I usually will try to explain it to students in a way they understand it maybe by using pictures and drawings rather than words if they are more artsy/imaginative students than literal/verbal.

  2. Meagan,
    I think sometimes we forget that we are indeed adults and our students are continuing to learn and develop academically. Especially in the elementary grades, I believe that using pictures and drawings in addition to words can go much further. Also, just because a student may learn best through pictures does not mean that one should never be verbal towards this student. Just as teachers we need to adapt to our students, students themselves need to adapt towards the learning styles they will come across, especially ones in later grades.

  3. Calvin, I thought you brought up a good point about getting distracted while using eReaders. This is an especially important thing to think about if you are going to be using them with young kids. I wonder if there are ways to place locks on eTexts so that kids are only able to view the text book? That would be interesting to research.

  4. Calvin,
    I like how you tied the two readings together here. I think wiki spaces are definitely a prime example of how to hit upon multiple learning styles. Some students need more feedback to be motivated, while others are more intrinsically motivated. I think it’s also an excellent opportunity for collaboration and for students to take on leadership roles in editing and talking about their work. This will certainly lead to increased engagement, as I’ve seen firsthand students get very excited about sharing their reading and writing successes with their peers.
    The point about eReaders is a good one too. At my previous job, our kids used Tumble Books, which you may be familiar with. They used it on their web browser, and this was during a “computer club.” Almost all of the students stayed on task when they were asked to read / listen to the books, but this could also be due to the multimedia nature (they have audio and visual components). I’ve found reading on my iPad less distracting than on a computer, but that could also be due to the fact that I don’t have internet access on the iPad unless im on wifi, so I’m less apt to be distracted. It’s also nice to have portability while traveling, etc. of course.

Leave a Reply

