EDTC 6431: Technology & Information Fluency

Christensen, Johnson, and Horn (2011) walk through the educational development from the late 1800’s to the early 2000’s. This chapter references “Sputnik” and the resulting educational push for American math and science education. In other words, for America to be competitive in technology and innovation – at the time with the Soviets something must be changed with the educational system. This resulted in schools providing more rigorous science and math courses. The article written by Brian Grismore (2012) states that students and educators need to know and become efficient with technology and information fluency, which are necessary skills for today’s students to succeed in tomorrow’s workforce. Each reading was in reference towards a different time period, but each had the same implication. Both are indicating the importance of technology and information literacy in our schools. It is not only for students to become familiar and efficient with technology, but for teachers to be able to teach and share these technological tools. Technology is one of the fastest evolving industries in the world, and I don’t see that changing any time soon. Thus it is important as educators to be up to date with current technological trends. More and more classrooms are equipped with smart boards, computers, iPads, or laptops – with the amount of resources out there; it would be a waste not to utilize these tools. Furthermore, I see technology as a great way to differentiate instruction by allowing various ways to do one task. Technology is not going anywhere, and as teachers we must be ready to effectively integrate these tools in our curriculum.

Highlights and Bookmark

This week’s experience with the eReader was much more pleasant than the previous. Overall, I still would prefer a book in my hand – this may not be the case if I had a kindle or a specific eReader as I am doing the readings on my laptop and I don’t have the luxury of reading wherever I please. One new tool I used this week was book marking specific pages that I thought were particularly important. What I like about any markings done on the eReader, is the notes & markings tab where all markings done is clearly referenced. I can easily go back and see what I have marked or made notes on. As I become more familiar using the eReader, I can see how it can be a lot more efficient than reading and highlighting an actual book.

 

Christensen, C., Johnson, C.W., & Horn, M.B. (2011). Disrupting class: how disruptive innovation will change the way the world learns (kindle). McGraw-Hill.

Grismore, B.A. (2012) Information literacy skills: comparing and evaluating databases. Unpublished Manuscript.

2 thoughts on “EDTC 6431: Technology & Information Fluency

  1. Calvin,
    You bring up an important point that because our students are becoming increasingly fluent with the use of technology that teachers also need to increase their fluency with such tools. The Kindle eReader is one of those ways for us especially as we learn new tricks like the bookmarking feature. I agree that it seems much easier to bookmark and look back on what you’ve highlighted and made notes on but it can also be frustrating to not be able to take your laptop everywhere (I’m in the same boat-a kindle or tablet would make this easier and something I’d do more often).

  2. Calvin, I like your attitude on using technology in the classroom. I feel the same way. This is the way education is going and as future teachers we need to equip and train ourselves to be ready to use technological tools available to us in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

